Located alongside beautiful Olcott Park in Virginia, Minnesota, this little gem of a museum is housed in three buildings. The former home of Olcott Park superintendents, on its original site, features a large display about the area white pine lumbering industry, including the story of the Virginia and Rainy Lake Lumber Company. Adjacent structures are a 1913 Finnish log house and a tourist cabin from the 1930s, containing early household, farming, school and business artifacts. Changing exhibits tell the history of the area and its people.
A large archive collection includes thousands of documents and photos as well as city directories, yearbooks, telephone books and newspapers.
The museum is managed by the Virginia Area Historical Society.