In 1952, Reeve Harold Gammon and Councillor Archie Hanna felt that a place should be found to keep artifacts of pioneer days in this area before they became lost or destroyed. H. K. Hunt, a descendant of early area pioneers, was appointed Curator. The museum was rightfully renamed The Duke Hunt Museum to reflect his passion to preserve local history and generous collection donation of his own artifacts.
The museum was created in a spare room in the Slate River School and later the present building was erected to house the museum collection. Come and visit us today for a unique glimpse into the past! We are located at 3218 Rosslyn Road, Rosslyn Ontario.