Dan and Kelly Matyasovszky are the 4th generation to farm the family acreage in Neebing, just south of Thunder Bay, Ontario. Their farm started on the acreage in Scoble Township (now a part of Neebing) in 1938. The farm was originally a subsistence dairy farm and was owned by our great grandparents, Frank and Maria Mate. They farmed with their children, and as the family expanded, so did their farm. Each generation was brought up with the understanding of the importance off all aspects of farm life. Values, work ethic, and respect for farming and agriculture have been instilled in each passing generation.
The Matyasovszky's love of farming and Neebing's rural area are important to them. In 2001, Dan and Kelly made the decision to move back from Southern Ontario and re-purchase their family farm. At that point, they rebuilt the farm from the ground up and made the switch from dairy to beef. And the rest, as they say, is history!
They purchased the first 11 head and the family farm dream became a reality with the birth of the first calf in July of 2001. With each passing year they work tirelessly to improve the way they make and market the beef.
The brand name "Dr. Dan's Divine Bovine" started as a joke while brainstorming and turned into a catch phrase!