On the National Register of Historic Places since 1978, this iron ore mine was one of several in the Ely area. It closed on April 1, 1967 and is owned by the City of Ely. It is operated as the Ely Arts & Heritage Center by non-profit Ely Greenstone Public Art Committee. With mining and historical displays at the Shaft House, 401 North Pioneer Road, the headframe and water tower are adjacent. Down a stairway where miners once walked is the Miners Dry House where miners reported for work in this important underground mine. Its rich iron ore played an important role in the building of America from 1890 on and in two world wars. The Miners Dry house is now used for art classes and exhibits 6-7 months of the year.
Latitude: 47.591666 Longitude: -92.14843 Elevation: 1535 ft