An ancient gathering place on Rainy River known as the "place of the long rapids." Declared a Canadian National Historic Site in 1970, the Rainy River First Nation are the guardians and interpreters of the site.
An Interpretive Centre, walking trails, late 1800s graveyard, Elder Roundhouse and Burial Mounds of the Laurel and Blackduck Peoples form the complex located off Shaw Road just east of Stratton, Ontario on Highway 11.
The Interpretive Centre provides a historic overview of the Archaic, Laurel and Blackduck peoples highlighting artifacts found during archaeological explorations. Displays detail the lifestyle of the Mound Builders and their successors the Ojibway people. The displays include interpretation of the modern Ojibway experience from the time of Treaty 3 to today, as well as information about the original cultures that inhabited the area in the time of the mound builders.
The guided nature walk to the burial mounds includes traditional medicinal plants, a late 1800s graveyard and the Roundhouse, where traditional cultural activities of the Ojibway people take place.
The main complex contains a restaurant featuring traditional foods and a gift shop that features local Ojibway and other First Nations artists and crafts.
New this year are guided and unguided birding tours highlighting the many species which are not found anywhere else in Ontario.
In the winter season lighted cross country ski and snowshoe trails are set and people are encouraged to come enjoy the best winter recreation activities in our region.
This site was the subject of an Ontario Archaeological Society investigation. The report of findings is KENYON, W. A. Rainy River Project 1959 21 - 22 [mound, Rainy River, river, site]