Located at the heart of downtown Fort Frances, the Fort Frances Museum is home to diverse collection of artifacts, photos and historic documents that together weave the fabric of our community's history.
The building itself has been a focal point for community activities over the past century and continues to serve as the hub of the cultural community. During the summer season's Market Thursdays, the Museum's courtyard spills over with artists and crafters selling their wares. A special bonus are the tea and scones served inside!
Erected in 1898, this two-story structure was built as the Scott Street School House. The Town prospered, families multiplied, and classes quickly outgrew the building. In 1927, the founding members of the Royal Canadian Legion took up residence, staying until 1968. Since then the police station, assessment office, and Chamber of Commerce called the building home. In 1978, the well-preserved structure, complete with cupola, became a permanent home for the Fort Frances Museum. Approved for Heritage Designation in 2000, the Museum was completely refurbished, wood floors and all, in 2007.
The history of Fort Frances and surrounding area is covered by the Museum's exhibits. Our permanent gallery tells the story of our earliest indigenous peoples, the adventure of the fur trade, the trials of early settlement,and the booming forest industry realized by local paper and lumber mills. Special emphasis is given to how each has contributed to the steady growth of a community situated where beautiful Rainy Lake flows into the Rainy River.
Our large temporary gallery changes frequently and covers many aspects of history, art and culture on both a local and national level.
In the summer, admission includes access to our heritage sites, a logging tugboat and a lookout tower, located along our scenic waterfront, La Verendrye Parkway.