The Toimi School was constructed in 1913. Later, when an addition to the school was needed to accommodate the number of students, an apartment for the teacher was also added (teacherage). At one time there were nearly 100 children going to school in Toimi.
For many years the building functioned as not only a school, but as a center for the whole community. Many dances and meetings were held there until 1923 when the Toimi Town Hall was completed just across the road. The last classes were held in the school during 1942. Since then it has served as a storage building for U.S. Forest Service fire fighting supplies then as a garage for the Lake County Highway Department.
In 1977 a full school reunion of former classmates was held. This was the first public event at the school since its closure in 1942.
A non-profit group, the Toimi School Community Center Committee, was organized in 1991. The committee members are volunteers and, to date, have been comprised mostly of Toimi School alumni, spouses or children of alumni, and local residents.
In 1991 the Lake County Board of Commissioners transferred ownership of the Toimi School to the Toimi School Community Center Committee and the work began. With the Lake County Highway Department using the building it was kept in a structurally sound condition.
Some of the work that has been done includes a new foundation and roof, lead paint removal and disposal, hardwood flooring placed in the classroom, storm windows, rebuild of the pumphouse, and varnishing.
The School is located on the Superior National Forest Scenic Byway (Forest Highway 11) at its intersection with County Road 151.
Visit the annual Kesa Juhla (Midsummer Festival) in June.